Sligo Civil Defence – 2011-2012 Training Year Presentation Night, 19th April 2012

26 April 2012

Sligo Civil Defence held their 2011/2012 training year presentation night on Thursday 19th April which was attended by Director of Service for Emergency Services, Dorothy Clarke Civil Defence Board Technical Officer, Kevin Houston together with 70 Volunteer members of Sligo Civil Defence.

2011 activities were reviewed on the night and plans for 2012 were unveiled. In 2011 Sligo Civil Defence Volunteers attended 97 events equating to 580 Volunteers and 556 manhours.

Director of Service, Dorothy Clarke and Technical Officer, Kevin Heuston thanked the Volunteers for their commitment in volunteering and attending training especially when there are so many demands on people’s free time.

Volunteers promoted within the local organisation are as follows:
(i) Seamus Egan Commander for Casualty, Rescue, AFS, Communications
(ii) Annemarie Mitchell Commander of Welfare
(iii) Paddy Sheridan and Cathal O’Gara 1st Officers
(iv) Patrick Kennedy, Delores Davey, Annie Feely, Margaret O’Connell, Marie Giblin,
Ann Mitchell 3rd Officers
(v) William Powell, Della Lindsay and Marie Leydon to leaders

10 year medals, Instructor Certificates, EMT Certificates and CFR / OFA Certificates were presented by both Dorothy Clarke and Kevin Heuston.

10 Year medals recipients
· Marie Giblin
· John Quinn
· Peter Mc Hale
· Kathleen Henry
· Kate Henry
Instructor Certificate recipient
· Delores Davey EFR Instructor
EMT Certificate recipients
· Paddy Sheridan
· Delores Davey
· John Quinn
CFR / OFA Certifificate recipients – Ballymote Unit
· Anthony Molloy
· Michael John Haran
· Barry Clarke
· Adrian Brehony
CFR / OFA Certificate recipients – Enniscrone Unit
· Peter Mc Hale
· Christopher Ormsby
· Shannon Wall
· Eamon Gilroy
· James Henry
· Brian Mc Cann
· Colin Morrison
CFR / OFA Certificate recipients – Dromore West Unit
· Ronan Carty
· Martin Mc Guinness
· Mary Furey
· Carmel Conway
· Josephine Marley
· Shane Connolly
CFR / OFA Certificate recipients – Sligo Unit
· Austin June
· Edward Burke
· Chris Kilfeather
· Brendan Mc Carrick
· Grainne Opates
· Aisling Kevany
· Noelle Kevany
· Tara Kevany
· Jamie Farrell
· Shane Monaghan
· Darren Gough
· Tiiu Mattis
· Kaidi Mannik
· Admire Ndlovu
· Claire Wynne
· Keith Mc Goldrick
· Sikhathazile Mpofu
CFR / OFA Certificate recipients – Grange Unit
· Ciaran Dawdry
· Chris Dolan
· Gerard Shannon
· Stephen Shannon
CFR / OFA Certificate recipients – Gurteen Unit
· Kyle Coleman
· Daniel O’Connor
· Kyle Lennon
· Karina O’Dowd
· Mairead Mulvany
· Karen Powell
· John Powell
· Noel Scanlon
The 28 Volunteers who successfully completed their EFR Exams last May were congratulated on their achievement.
The night ended with numerous photo calls and light refreshments.